Author Topic: Switches and control  (Read 1329 times)

mickey

• Fireman
Switches and control
« on: September 05, 2024, 10:01:42 PM »
I am just getting into the RailPro with battery for my outdoor G scale.  I had originally bought 2 AM-1 for switch control to get started.  So I started to read up on them and see an issue.  First, they say in a dry environment and second is the distance. Basically with a distance of 20’, how can you possibly use these outdoors. My previous system (LocoLinc) I had a board mounted in a closet on an outside wall and had conduit run from that out to the garden and ran a multi strand solid wire cable thru it. Perfect for keeping everything inside nice and dry. I have no idea how far the wire has to go, but it could easily be up to 50’ for some of the switches. How on earth can anyone make it work outside in a midsize garden railroad?  I don’t want to constantly unwire and take things inside.  What is the solution?  I now see the AM-1 is replaced by the TC but it us still the same issue.

Next, I have a number of the LGB switches controllers.  Are they considered motorized or snap?  I will end up with probably 10-15 switches by the time I’m done.

Input is appreciated beforeindive any further.

G8B4Life

• Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
Re: Switches and control
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2024, 09:47:50 PM »
Where did you get 20ft from? The AM-1 manual gives a warning that the range is over 100ft so to be wary that "your neighbours could control your AM-1", if your neighbours used RailPro as well that is.