RailPro User Group

RailPro => RailPro Specific Help & Discussion => Topic started by: amtrack5899 on August 05, 2022, 11:46:35 AM

Title: dead rail battery
Post by: amtrack5899 on August 05, 2022, 11:46:35 AM
I am new to Rail Pro.  I plan on running dead rail battery power .  I have a 3350 mah battery that I plan on installing in a USA train switcher engine.  This will have a on/off/on switch w battery plug & charging jack with 12 leads. I would also like to use a battery car with a 4 amp hour battery for longer run time. Can I use a second  on/off/on switch to bypass the battery in the engine and just use the battery car when needed?
Thank you
Rich R
Title: Re: dead rail battery
Post by: gregeusa on August 05, 2022, 06:01:00 PM
of course, the RailPro unit does not care, power is power.
Title: Re: dead rail battery
Post by: ron045 on August 06, 2022, 07:01:54 AM
That seems like a complicated mission.  How long do you run trains that you need that much battery?  I run a 14.8V LiIon 3.5ah in O scale and can run continuous for about 3 hours.

If my battery in the engine is dead, I park/charge the engine and run a different engine.
Title: Re: dead rail battery
Post by: gregeusa on August 06, 2022, 11:54:22 AM
USA Trains is G scale, and USAT is famous for having high stall current motors.

He's thinking in a good way.

Greg