RailPro User Group

RailPro => RailPro Discussion & Help => Topic started by: Dean on September 12, 2016, 09:00:12 PM

Title: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: Dean on September 12, 2016, 09:00:12 PM
I installed a LM-1 into a Stewart/Kato F3. I soldered the speaker wire to a iPhone 4S speaker. But I have no sound. If you select the 'Bell' sound and put your ear next to the speaker, you can just barely hear it with the volume turned all the way up. There is no horn or engine sound that I can hear.
Am I using the wrong speaker?
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: TwinStar on September 12, 2016, 09:26:22 PM
Dean:

Did you buy the loudspeaker or the earpiece speaker?

Jacob
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: G8B4Life on September 12, 2016, 09:29:09 PM
Can you post a pic of your install? You might be using the wrong speaker.

If the speaker looks like this

iphone-4s-speaker.jpg

Then you should get good sound from it.

If it looks like this

Earpiece-speaker.jpg

Then you'll hardly get any sound as the speaker has no sound chamber to amplify the sound waves. If you've got the second type you'll need to make or buy a chamber. If it's the first type I'd check the wiring again or perhaps the speaker is faulty.

- Tim
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: hirailer on September 12, 2016, 09:37:58 PM
It may be a silly question, but are you using a LM-1 or a LM-1S? The LM-1 is not sound capable.

Mel
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: G8B4Life on September 13, 2016, 07:21:23 AM
Quote
It may be a silly question, but are you using a LM-1 or a LM-1S? The LM-1 is not sound capable.

Sorry Mel, I hate to be the one to point out (for Deans sake) the LM-1 is sound capable. There was no separate LM-1S.

Just thinking about that further though, Dean are you really using an old LM-1 or is it actually an LM-2
 (non sound) or LM-2S (sound) and you perhaps hit the wrong key when typing your message?

- Tim
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: Dean on September 13, 2016, 12:01:11 PM
G8B4Life: It is a LM-1. I have had it for a while now but never bothered with the sound. When the HC-2 found it, it loaded the volume control and the Horn, Bell, and other sound buttons, plus all the configuration settings for sound. The HC-2 shows none of this for any of my LM-2.
The speaker is the long thin one you have pictured. I tried a second one this morning with the same results; no sound. I also tried a more conventional round speaker and got nothing with that either.
But: if I select the Bell sound and put my ear real close to the speaker, I can barely hear the Bell along with static. This happens with any speaker I tried. This is with the volume all the way up.
My next step is to download new sound files.
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: Dean on September 13, 2016, 06:41:51 PM
It appears the LM-1 is toast.
Will have go to plan B.
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: KPack on September 13, 2016, 10:58:20 PM
Send it back to Ring.  They'll either repair it, replace it, or give you a discount on a LM-3S. 

If you really want a LM-1 I have one for you.  If you want it, it's yours.  Just PM me.  I have about 4 of them just sitting around.

-Kevin
Title: Re: No sound from a LM-1
Post by: Dean on September 14, 2016, 08:59:41 PM
PM sent. Thanks.