RailPro User Group

RailPro => RailPro Discussion & Help => Topic started by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:49:05 PM

Title: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:49:05 PM
Originally posted by Shawn Hogan on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 27, 2015

Hello Group,
Does the HC-2 have brakes? in other words is there an Fx button/icon that would act as a brake to stop the loco? Some of my DCC friends have this and I realize it is a function of their decoders primarily so maybe the question is better framed as: Does the LM-2 and LM-2S have a braking function?

Thank you, Shawn Hogan
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:49:21 PM
Originally posted by kpack05 on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 13, 2015

Hi Shawn,

Currently the HC-2 does not have that function.  However, it shouldn't be too difficult to add it.  I know that I've brought it up to Tim in the past, but it was more in passing.  If we all request it then it will happen. 

The beauty of Railpro is that the software is easily updated with new features and programs.  All that has to happen is for Tim to write the code, have a few users beta test it, then release it as a general update.  Tim has already added a ton of new features since I first bought the system a few years ago.  I really don't think that adding a braking function would be hard.

Thoughts from anyone else?

-Kevin
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:49:30 PM
Originally posted by William Brillinger on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 27, 2015

I have requested this feature from Tim in the past. The more people that ask for it, the higher up it goes on the priority list.

- Bill

Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:49:38 PM
Originally posted by Shawn Hogan on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 27, 2015

Well then I guess I'll make my request known :)

I got to thinking about it after a recent op session on a friend's layout who uses DCC. He has the momentum tweaked and then when you hit the "brake" button(in this case F6) the loco slows and stops more quickly than if you just turned the throttle knob down. Easy to use, fairly realistic and very handy for switching.
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:49:50 PM
Originally posted by TS on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 28, 2015

Not a bad idea. This could possibly be combined with a real
coasting/momentum feature and given enough development it could be made
to function like a real brake. If the brake logic was put onto the loco
modules every loco could have it's prototypical "brake stand".

I'm not sure how much I'd use such a feature though. It would be fun
for ops but not so great for roundy round things like train shows where
your just going in circles. You'd have to be able to say when you do
and don't want to use it.

Unfortunately even though everythings in software I don't think there'd
be much support for a feature I would like; vigilance control. I can
explain that one if anyone wants to know what it is.

Cheers,

Tim
Land of OZ
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:50:01 PM
Originally posted by Shawn Hogan on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 28, 2015

Alright Tim! 'splain yourself :)
What's "vigilance control"? You have my curiosity up!! And you're right- the braking is best for operations but not necessary for the "roundy-roundy" of train shows. Probably overkill for the train show type exhibition. It kinda gives you a sense actually running the engine because you need to gauge distance and speed. Easy to learn but takes a bit of practice to get used to plus each loco handles just a bit differently. My 13 year old son is a better operator than I(and I pride myself on being a good operator in real life!).
Shawn
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:50:13 PM
Originally posted by TS on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 29, 2015

Ok here you go Shawn,

Vigilance control performs a similar function to the dead man's handle.
Where as the dead man's handle required constantly applying some sort
of weight to a lever of some sort (hand of foot) vigilance control,
which is used here, makes sure your awake and in control of the train
by using a counter. Simplified, it work's like this:

Counter counts for X number of seconds.

At X number of seconds an alarm sounds.

At X + say 20 seconds if the cancel button has not been pressed shut
down and apply emergency brake.

At any time during the counting moving the brake or throttle (2
notches) resets the counter.

The above was for the driver, fireman had a flashing light before the
alarm.

I think the above has been lacking somewhat in the model world, I
wouldn't like to think of the number of damaged models out there
attributed to a person not paying attention to their train, either by
yakking to someone else or by falling asleep.

Cheers,

Tim
Land of OZ

Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:50:25 PM
Originally posted by Shawn Hogan on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 29, 2015

Good Morning Tim!
I love it! And it would be something to add to our control systems. Definitely adds an extra level of realism.

It would come into play, I think, more in the "roundy-roundy" of a train show or home layout that is built for continuous  running.
Shawn
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:50:38 PM
Originally posted by TS on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 29, 2015

Good Night Shawn :-)

I'm glad you like the concept. It was introduced here after a very bad
head on collision back in 1969 and it's worked very well.

You are right, it's probably wouldn't find much use during ops but
roundy roundy train shows, relaxing in a easy chair at home watching
your trains go round at the end of the day or (and this is a good one)
at the clubrooms. How many times I've seen people leave their train
running unattended while they're chatting with someone or go into the
next room etc. Of course we can't get the HC-2 to sound an alarm as it
has no speaker but with software I don't think it's be a hard one to
program.

Tim
Land of OZ
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:50:50 PM
Originally posted by kpack05 on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 29, 2015

Tim, I can fully understand the reasoning behind the vigilance control or dead man's switch.  But I'll be honest, I don't think I would enjoy using it...at all.  Like not even a little bit.  I'd imagine most people would feel the same.  Except perhaps for those whole are running a lot on show layouts as you mentioned.  That's really the only scenario where I could see this being tolerated.  During ops or just running at home you are pretty much always in close control of the train, so it just isn't necessary.

I'm not sure how many Railpro users would relish this idea, but perhaps it may become an option in the future?

-Kevin
Title: Re: Question about functions on the HC-2
Post by: Archive on October 09, 2015, 10:50:59 PM
Originally posted by TS on the RailPro Users Yahoo! Group on Sep 30, 2015

Hi Kevin,

Your right, most people wouldn't see the value in it. You could really
call it a low value operating enhancement. Those doing ops would likely
never use it and even the roundy roundy train shows and at home users
would not likely use it. Even I would probably only use it half the time
but I can see it's value in distracting environments, such as roundy
roundy train shows, roundy roundy clubroom layouts and at home too;
yes, I have seen people fall asleep with the throttle in their hand and
the train going.

I don't expect to see it because of it's low value and I'm not going to
jump up and down about it but if we could only write our own code it's
something I would try to do.

Cheers,

Tim
Land of OZ