Author Topic: Locked Control Screen  (Read 158 times)

ronp

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Locked Control Screen
« on: October 04, 2020, 12:45:05 PM »

What has one done to get the controller screen to look like this.


Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 949
    • View Profile
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2020, 03:01:47 PM »
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

There is nothing wrong with your television set. Do not attempt to adjust the picture. We are controlling transmission. If we wish to make it louder, we will bring up the volume. If we wish to make it softer, we will tune it to a whisper. We will control the horizontal. We will control the vertical. We can roll the image, make it flutter. We can change the focus to a soft blur, or sharpen it to crystal clarity. For the next hour, sit quietly and we will control all that you see and hear. We repeat: There is nothing wrong with your television set. You are about to participate in a great adventure. You are about to experience the awe and mystery which reaches from the inner mind to... The Outer Limits.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1079
    • View Profile
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2020, 03:09:03 PM »
Looks like a failed screen. Contact Ring Engineering for repair.

http://ringengineering.com/TechnicalSupport.htm

I suggest using the phone before email. It's usually faster.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


ronp

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2020, 03:30:18 PM »
I was afraid that might be the case.  I will contact ring.   Thanx

ronp

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2020, 05:47:02 PM »
I emailed Ring and they got right back to me.  They had me press the power button then press the lower right corner of the screen.  The unit shut off (as normal), I then turned it on...it worked normal.  The tech suggested that the problem might have been a static discharge.....WOW.
Anyway all is well

Ron

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 949
    • View Profile
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2020, 06:41:52 PM »
So turning it on and off fixed the problem? Easy enough. Nice to know.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

ronp

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2020, 04:28:03 PM »
Yes, it turned our to be a simple deal.  With a blank screen after hitting the power button, which of course normally brings up the power off button in the lower right corner of the display, I tapped the lower right corner of the blank screen and the unit shut off (as it should).  Then I restarted it and the screen display and control returned.  Done.  Surprised me.

Ron

ON28

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: Locked Control Screen
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2020, 06:03:26 PM »
"Have you tried rebooting?"  LOL