Author Topic: Caboose Lighting  (Read 479 times)

bcbarney

  • Brakeman
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Caboose Lighting
« on: October 13, 2020, 01:29:07 PM »
Hi,
I am in need of lighting a caboose (directional, LED). Can I use an old LM-1 (surplus in my pile of stuff) just for the lighting features?  If not, how can I address my needs?  Thanks for your help!!!
Bruce Barney

KiloWhiskey

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Kevin W.
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2020, 04:51:31 PM »
Sure.... just get proper trucks and if you use a KA, use a diode bridge thing... (insert proper terminology here).

Kevin
Kevin


In my defense, I was left unsupervised....

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2020, 05:01:24 PM »
Sure.... just get proper trucks and if you use a KA, use a diode bridge thing... (insert proper terminology here).

Kevin

Oh so close. Only missing a y. The technical term is diode bridge thingy.  ;D
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

MichaelK

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 8
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2020, 05:28:20 PM »
Yeah, a bridge rectifier dealy-bob.  :)

bcbarney

  • Brakeman
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2020, 08:49:35 PM »
Okay, thanks!  Why is my HC-2 not seeing it?  I thought that maybe it was because it was not hooked up to a motor.  I am lost with this, help!

Bruce

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2020, 06:16:38 AM »
Bruce,

If you have track power hooked to the leads, the HC should be able to find it. (hook it straight to the rails to test)
Is it possible that the LM-1 is still in the loco inventory on the HC under it's old name?

If you attached power to the wrong leads, then it will be burnt out. You may need to send it in for a $25 repair.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


trainman605

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2020, 08:51:25 AM »
Lighting today is so easily done with LED's, all my passenger cars and cabooses are powered by a 9v battery and the battery box is mounted under the car. It does have a on/off switch and tucks in very well and looks great. My end cars only have marker lamps which are usually just mounted on one end of the car, so I have no need for direction of the lights, but if I did it could be wired very easily and just the addition of one switch. I personally don't care about track power for lighting, mainly because all my engines, etc. are battery powered, plus I have no light flickering which looks funky.

trainman

mcbunton

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2020, 08:19:06 AM »
can I be the newbie and ask dumb questions?  Where are you buying the LED and switches?  And since this forum seems to cover all scales, do you use different size (wattage?)  lights for an outdoor G scale layout?  Possible to post a pic of a car with the battery box and switch?

Thanks in advance!

trainman605

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2020, 08:14:21 AM »
 [ Invalid Attachment ]  [ Invalid Attachment ]   I use LED's purchased on eBay, 12v, 3mm or 5mm, depending on what size you want, get the ones with the 100 ohm resistors attached. I used the 9v battery box with on/off switch and attach it under the car with double sticky tape. I hope the pics came thru, if not I will retry.  https://www.ebay.com/itm/20-x-Pre-wired-9v-3mm-Warm-Soft-White-LEDs-Prewired-9-volt-DC-LED-Light-8v-7v/161606954180?_trkparms=aid%3D1110006%26algo%3DHOMESPLICE.SIM%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20200520130830%26meid%3Dd0b0774b8cfb4d75a73f8f2a7e3e6fb4%26pid%3D101195%26rk%3D6%26rkt%3D12%26mehot%3Dpf%26sd%3D151052047853%26itm%3D161606954180%26pmt%3D1%26noa%3D0%26pg%3D2047675%26algv%3DSimplAMLv5PairwiseWebWithBBEV2bDemotion&_trksid=p2047675.c101195.m1851 The battery boxes also came from eBay, if you try a LED and it doesn't work then switch the leeds, they will only work one way. School yourself on LED's on YouTube videos, you can learn a lot. This way you don't have to use track power and and LED will burn for days.

trainman

trainman605

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2020, 08:28:49 AM »

mcbunton

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2020, 01:38:47 PM »
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!