Author Topic: Load ?  (Read 198 times)

Josephbw

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
Load ?
« on: October 26, 2021, 09:37:24 AM »
Can you program the LM2S to use the load function?
Thanks Joe

CPRail

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
Re: Load ?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2021, 02:16:09 PM »
Hi Joe,

I'm not in a position to check my LM-2S equipped locos, but I'm 99% sure they have Load on them, as long as you have the current software loaded on the LM-2S.
Ian Lisakowski
Modelling CP Rail & VIA in the early 80's
Rabid Winnipeg Jets Fan - Go Jets Go!!

Josephbw

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
Re: Load ?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2021, 08:34:04 PM »
Thanks, Ian. I updated the software to the latest LM code. Went through the process of loading up the file, but it dosen't do anything. Is there any peculiar step you have to take to make it operational?

Thanks, Joe

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
Re: Load ?
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2021, 11:08:24 PM »
Is there any peculiar step you have to take to make it operational?

Yes there is. Try this: https://www.ringengineering.com/DCC/UpdateRailProwithUltimateSeriesSoundsandTrueMotionTechnology.pdf.

Once you've set up the Load button you can press that button to set the desired level of "load".

- Tim

Josephbw

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
Re: Load ?
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2021, 01:53:27 PM »
Thank you very much Tim. I printed it out and will try it this evening.

Cheers, Joe

Josephbw

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
Re: Load ?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2021, 09:49:58 AM »
Hi Tim, I followed the directions, but it still doesn't work. Do you have to have it set for manual notching or auto?
Thanks, Joe

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1180
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Load ?
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2021, 03:28:24 PM »
The load feature only works with auto notching.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


CPRail

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
Re: Load ?
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2021, 03:42:36 PM »
Hi Bill,

All my fleet has manual notching, and the Load feature works across the board.
Ian Lisakowski
Modelling CP Rail & VIA in the early 80's
Rabid Winnipeg Jets Fan - Go Jets Go!!

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1180
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Load ?
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2021, 04:11:11 PM »
How can it? Turning the knob has no effect on the sound when manual notching is enabled.
The load feature manages the sound (and momentum) when you crank up the knob in Automatic notching mode.

Perhaps the momentum aspects of the load feature still work when in manual notching?
If so, that's only 1/2 the effects of the load feature.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


CPRail

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
Re: Load ?
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2021, 04:20:29 PM »
Beats me.

The sound increases a bit when turning the knob before notching (like under load), and then the momentum does it's thing.
Ian Lisakowski
Modelling CP Rail & VIA in the early 80's
Rabid Winnipeg Jets Fan - Go Jets Go!!