Author Topic: No sound from a LM-1  (Read 2395 times)

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
No sound from a LM-1
« on: September 12, 2016, 09:00:12 PM »
I installed a LM-1 into a Stewart/Kato F3. I soldered the speaker wire to a iPhone 4S speaker. But I have no sound. If you select the 'Bell' sound and put your ear next to the speaker, you can just barely hear it with the volume turned all the way up. There is no horn or engine sound that I can hear.
Am I using the wrong speaker?
Dean

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 09:26:22 PM »
Dean:

Did you buy the loudspeaker or the earpiece speaker?

Jacob
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 09:29:09 PM »
Can you post a pic of your install? You might be using the wrong speaker.

If the speaker looks like this

iphone-4s-speaker.jpg

Then you should get good sound from it.

If it looks like this

Earpiece-speaker.jpg

Then you'll hardly get any sound as the speaker has no sound chamber to amplify the sound waves. If you've got the second type you'll need to make or buy a chamber. If it's the first type I'd check the wiring again or perhaps the speaker is faulty.

- Tim

hirailer

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2016, 09:37:58 PM »
It may be a silly question, but are you using a LM-1 or a LM-1S? The LM-1 is not sound capable.

Mel
Having more fun with RailPro

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2016, 07:21:23 AM »
Quote
It may be a silly question, but are you using a LM-1 or a LM-1S? The LM-1 is not sound capable.

Sorry Mel, I hate to be the one to point out (for Deans sake) the LM-1 is sound capable. There was no separate LM-1S.

Just thinking about that further though, Dean are you really using an old LM-1 or is it actually an LM-2
 (non sound) or LM-2S (sound) and you perhaps hit the wrong key when typing your message?

- Tim

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2016, 12:01:11 PM »
G8B4Life: It is a LM-1. I have had it for a while now but never bothered with the sound. When the HC-2 found it, it loaded the volume control and the Horn, Bell, and other sound buttons, plus all the configuration settings for sound. The HC-2 shows none of this for any of my LM-2.
The speaker is the long thin one you have pictured. I tried a second one this morning with the same results; no sound. I also tried a more conventional round speaker and got nothing with that either.
But: if I select the Bell sound and put my ear real close to the speaker, I can barely hear the Bell along with static. This happens with any speaker I tried. This is with the volume all the way up.
My next step is to download new sound files.
Dean

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2016, 06:41:51 PM »
It appears the LM-1 is toast.
Will have go to plan B.
Dean

KPack

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 692
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2016, 10:58:20 PM »
Send it back to Ring.  They'll either repair it, replace it, or give you a discount on a LM-3S. 

If you really want a LM-1 I have one for you.  If you want it, it's yours.  Just PM me.  I have about 4 of them just sitting around.

-Kevin

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
Re: No sound from a LM-1
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2016, 08:59:41 PM »
PM sent. Thanks.
Dean