Author Topic: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro  (Read 19507 times)

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #105 on: December 08, 2017, 05:29:25 PM »
Where did the KA install with bridge rectifier diagram go? I can't find it after the rearrangement.
Thanks.

Bill's Nov 9 reply two replies above yours in this thread.

I apologize. I was looking for a drawn diagram and completely glossed over that.  :-[
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #106 on: December 08, 2017, 05:48:40 PM »
No Worries Jacob!

And I agree with Kevin, the KA's work as advertised and the Bridge Rectifier does not cause any issues when MUing with units that do not use them. All of my Locos are KA equipped.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 05:50:13 PM by William Brillinger »
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


EsselW

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 6
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #107 on: February 14, 2018, 11:24:06 PM »
I had been considering RailPro with the Stanton BPS for control on a small On30 layout.  But would RailPro with a keep-alive pretty much work as well?  There wouldn't be any lengthy un-powered sections, just dirty nickel silver track, insulated un-powered frogs, and slow speeds.

KPack

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #108 on: February 14, 2018, 11:59:53 PM »
I don't see any reason why it wouldn't.  The keep-alive's (especially the larger ones) can last for a good amount of time, depending on how much current your motor is drawing.  I'd say wiring up a KA is easier and takes up less space than the Stanton BPS.  It's certainly worth a try.

-Kevin

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #109 on: August 12, 2019, 08:11:17 PM »
Your keep-alive equipped loco still doesn't have enough juice to get across all that dirty track? Maybe a laxative will help.

https://phys.org/news/2019-08-supercapacitors-turbocharged-laxatives.html

Keep you eye peeled for ionic electrolyte super capacitors coming onto the market. Maybe your next keep-alive will run for hours!
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #110 on: September 29, 2019, 10:44:44 PM »
I thought about adding KAs to my engines. Instead, I repaired my track, replaced some switches, cleaned the track and coated the track with graphite. I haven't had any problems or the need for KAs in a year+. Even my DCC equipped engines run better.
Dean

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #111 on: September 30, 2019, 05:59:13 AM »
Bravo Dean. Treat the problem, not the symptom.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro