Author Topic: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro  (Read 26536 times)

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #60 on: February 18, 2017, 11:15:20 PM »
An Error Has Occurred!
Your attachment couldn't be saved. This might happen because it took too long to upload or the file is bigger than the server will allow.

Please consult your server administrator for more information.
Back
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #61 on: February 18, 2017, 11:19:50 PM »
Sounds like your attachment hit the top of the siding at 100MPH but didn't make the station stop.  ;D ;D ;D

Resize your image down to around 600-800 pixels wide and try again.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #62 on: February 18, 2017, 11:24:26 PM »
I haven't had to resize in years. Let me find an app for that.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

nodcc4me

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 673
  • RailPro Fan
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #63 on: February 19, 2017, 07:54:23 AM »
Jacob, if you have MS Paint, you can resize with that.
Al

Run your train, not your brain. Get RailPro. It's a no-brainer.

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #64 on: February 19, 2017, 01:34:07 PM »
Al:

I'm a Mac guy and don't use MS or Paint. However, I used to use Seashore back when you had to resize everything before posting. However, my security settings wouldn't open a program that wasn't blessed by Apple. So, I had to change those. !@#$%, this Mac is reminding me of DCC. Anyways, here they are. Finally.

IMG_20170217_204230.jpg

IMG_20170217_204215.jpg

IMG_20170217_204221.jpg

[ Jacob, I inserted the images into your post so others could see them at full size without clicking on them. - Bill (admin) ]
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 01:54:07 PM by William Brillinger »
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

nodcc4me

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 673
  • RailPro Fan
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #65 on: February 19, 2017, 02:10:49 PM »
Thanks for the pictures Jacob. Sorry you had to go through so much trouble. Nice install. The KA-4 fits perfectly back there. Your Proto E7 is a bit different than mine. Looks like you removed some weights to make room for the module. This is one of my first RP locomotives so I have an LM-1 installed on top of the factory board, which is mounted behind the motor above the gear tower. No room for a KA-4 with or without the board without removing weight, which I hesitate to do. Thanks again.
100_0849.JPG
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 02:14:26 PM by William Brillinger »
Al

Run your train, not your brain. Get RailPro. It's a no-brainer.

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #66 on: February 19, 2017, 02:24:13 PM »
Jacob, is that black electrical tape? If so, it tends to leave a gooey mess if you remove it after a period of time. Try Kapton tape next time like shown in Al's installation. Kapton is heat resistant and leaves behind no adhesive.

https://www.kaptontape.com/1_Mil_Kapton_Tapes.php
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #67 on: February 19, 2017, 02:48:06 PM »
Quote
Alan, no, I don't think I'm going to be making a product here.

You (we?) should reconsider. Super caps in the value needed are 15 cents each in quantities of 1000 (7 cents 10,000 and up) on Alibaba. Drilled 100mm x 100mm boards (qnty 1000) are less than $1.00 ea from US. Overseas would be a fraction of $1.00. If we are willing to solder them ourselves (12 solders) I bet the total cost of a KA could be kept below $2.00 without having to invest in a huge inventory.

Don't these things sell for like $25.00 each? Not a bad return on a $2.00 investment.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #68 on: February 19, 2017, 02:52:44 PM »
Quote
You (we?) should reconsider.

If you make 'em, I'll market 'em.   8)
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #69 on: February 19, 2017, 03:44:32 PM »
Thanks for the pictures Jacob. Sorry you had to go through so much trouble. Nice install. The KA-4 fits perfectly back there. Your Proto E7 is a bit different than mine. Looks like you removed some weights to make room for the module. This is one of my first RP locomotives so I have an LM-1 installed on top of the factory board, which is mounted behind the motor above the gear tower. No room for a KA-4 with or without the board without removing weight, which I hesitate to do. Thanks again.
100_0849.JPG

It's no biggie. I needed to learn how to resize again anyways.

I didn't remove any weight and only removed a few small mounting posts that the board was attached to. I have an older E8 and the frames/drives/shells are night and day different. I did remove the crappy P2K motor and replaced it with a Kato and NWSL drivelines.

Once these five E units are complete I'm moving to a six pack of GP-7's and will probably replace the motors and ad KA's as well. These KA4's might fit in the cab of the short hood but I haven't really looked yet. I don't imagine I'll ever be able to use a Ring solution if it comes about due to the bridge rectifiers we're using and the need to keep things the same voltage at the motor.

Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #70 on: February 19, 2017, 03:45:36 PM »
Jacob, is that black electrical tape? If so, it tends to leave a gooey mess if you remove it after a period of time. Try Kapton tape next time like shown in Al's installation. Kapton is heat resistant and leaves behind no adhesive.

https://www.kaptontape.com/1_Mil_Kapton_Tapes.php

It is and next week will be 'was'. Thanks for the link, I wasn't aware of that product. I found the same thing on ebay much cheaper with free shipping if anyone else is interested.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #71 on: February 19, 2017, 04:05:11 PM »
Quote
I don't imagine I'll ever be able to use a Ring solution if it comes about due to the bridge rectifiers we're using and the need to keep things the same voltage at the motor.

Jacob, can you please explain what you are referring to here?

Why will the bridge rectifiers affect using a Ring solution?
What need to keep things the same voltage at the motor?
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #72 on: February 19, 2017, 04:09:08 PM »
Alan had previously stated that there was an argument to be made that if one RP was KA'd then they all should be. I don't imagine Tim's solution would require installing a bridge rectifier between his 'KA' and an LM and as such a Ring KA-LM would have full track voltage whereas our version is losing 1.4V or so at the motor.

Based upon this I don't imagine the two would play so well together. Perhaps I'm wrong.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #73 on: February 19, 2017, 04:10:50 PM »
Sorry Rob. I was posting while you were. By sheer accident almost answered your question. Sure, RP will run fine on 12.5V. Top speed may suffer.

A case could be made that if one loco has keep alive capacitors then all your locomotives should also. It would be interesting to study the MUing function between KA'ed and non-KA'ed. I am sure it will still work but am curious if there is an observable deterioration in function.

Here is what I was referencing in my above post.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Keep Alive installation w/ Railpro
« Reply #74 on: February 19, 2017, 04:29:11 PM »
hmm... some testing is needed.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.