Author Topic: Problem with RailPro Reversing Loop  (Read 3153 times)

MtRR75

• Conductor
Problem with RailPro Reversing Loop
« on: June 25, 2017, 08:57:12 PM »
First, a little background.  I am relatively new to RailPro.  I have a small layout and about 10 locomotives.  Two have been converted to RailPro, and another is in the shop getting converted.  But it will be a while before all of my locos get converted.

So, I am still running on my DC layout -- complete with block switches and two cabs.  I have a TPDT (tripple pole, double pole) switch that switches the layout from DC to RailPro.  The first 2 poles switch between CabA and RailPro.  The other pole disconnects CabB whenever RailPro is on.  There is no way that I can run the both systems simultaneously, which is exactly what I want.  I never leave RailPro locos and DC locos on the layout at the same time.

The problem comes with the reversing loop.  If I am only running one RailPro loco, I use my CabA directional switch to reverse the polarity of the Main Line while the loco is on the reversing track.  This works fine.

However, if another RailPro loco is moving, the sudden loss of power (from the center switch position) as the polarity changes causes the 2nd loco to stop suddenly, then restart -- but in the correct direction.

I know that RailPro makes a reversing loop module that will automatically deal with the polarity change that the 1st loco encounters.  I assume that the 2nd loco is unaffected and continues to run correctly.  So this is the obvious solution to my problem.

BUT.....

What about when I switch back to DC?  I doubt that the RailPro module will switch the polarity of a DC system.  It seems like it might be necessary to figure out how to toggle between the RailPro reversing loop module and my DC directional switch -- at the same time that I toggle between power sources.  I have some wiring skills, but I am not an expert.  So I am having trouble figuring this out.