Author Topic: Choosing LED's  (Read 8052 times)

William Brillinger

• Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
    • Precision Design Co.
Choosing LED's
« on: July 31, 2017, 07:31:54 PM »
Hi everyone,

I have a New DCC Ready Kato SD45 that I want to finish up and weather. I've installed an LM-3S into it using an 8 to 9 pin TCS wiring harness. The LM-3S is not driving the lights. The existing LED's do still work under DC.

I'm not sure why they don't work with the LM.

I figure I'm ready to pull the board from this unit and do a complete hard wire, and I thought I might try my first LED install, but I'm new at working with LED's. I've pretty much ignored lighting until now.

Kevin P indicates that he uses SMD LED's from Evans Design.
http://www.modeltrainsoftware.com/smd-chip-leds.html

My questions are:
Which voltage?
What resistors?

Any tips or suggestions?
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.

nodcc4me

• Conductor
  • RailPro Fan
Re: Choosing LED's
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 08:00:37 PM »
Bill, before you do a hard wire, try reversing the 8-pin plug in the socket. I have had to do that to get the lights to work on more than one installation.
Al

Run your train, not your brain. Get RailPro. It's a no-brainer.

William Brillinger

• Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
    • Precision Design Co.
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 08:31:47 PM »
Bill, before you do a hard wire, try reversing the 8-pin plug in the socket. I have had to do that to get the lights to work on more than one installation.

Well, that's embarrassing! Thanks Jacob that worked.
(and so much for using the tidy little 1" harness - the longer one is now required.)

I'm still interested in the answers to my questions about LED's though.

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.

nodcc4me

• Conductor
  • RailPro Fan
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2017, 08:50:17 PM »