Author Topic: RailPro Installation Service  (Read 2885 times)

JamesS

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
RailPro Installation Service
« on: January 19, 2017, 04:26:27 PM »
I'm looking to get my first loco installed with a RailPro LM-3S decoder and LED lights added.
Since DCC installation services are more prevalent, I'm trying to get a list together of people doing RailPro installs.
If you know of service that does, please respond.

Thank you.
James

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 800
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2017, 08:08:14 PM »
I don't know of any places that offer RailPro installation as a service but any place that installs DCC could install RailPro quite easily.

If no one here knows of a place that offers RailPro installation I'd ask Ring Engineering themselves if they know of any. If nothing comes up it couldn't hurt to ask if someone here could do your first one, or you could approach a place that does DCC installs and ask; all they'd really need is a CI-1 to test the install with (you could load sounds, lighting effects, pictures later by yourself), and you could provide that along with your loco etc at the time of install. Convincing them that they'd need to download and install the HC Simulator for the CI-1 would probably be the hardest part.

- Tim

jimw

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2017, 08:59:53 PM »
Try Traintekllc.com.  I talked to them last year and they were very helpful.  I believe they sell and install Railpro.

JimW

JamesS

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2017, 09:31:04 PM »
Thank you.  I will contact TrainTek.

James

nodcc4me

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 564
  • RailPro Fan
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2017, 10:18:35 PM »
Yankee Dabbler will install RailPro in a locomotive you buy from them for a modest fee. I'm not sure they will do an installation in a loco that you provide, but a phone call to them wouldn't hurt.
Al

Run your train, not your brain. Get RailPro. It's a no-brainer.

MtRR75

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2017, 09:19:11 PM »
You don't have to buy the loco from Yankee Dabbler, but you do have to buy the RailPro module from them in order to have them install it in your loco -- for a price.  I have had this done for two of my old DC locos.  Very satisfied with the service and communications.

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2017, 11:41:08 AM »
Actually, anyone that has installed a 9 pin connector for DCC can install a railpro decoder. The 9 pin connector is the same for both and they are wired into the locomotive the same way.
Dean

jimw

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2017, 08:13:23 PM »
Like JamesS, I seriously considered paying for professional installation.  Although some projects appear to be simply that of unplug-and-replace, my first and only installation of any kind was in a (narrow-hood) DCC-ready Proto SD9. Without a mentor, I have relied on reading and viewing similar installations, only a very few of which are available for Railpro, and none for my loco.

It was interesting, but time-consuming to disassemble the loco, then remove the PC board,  remove and cut down the weight so as to fit the LM-2S, replace the lights and then splice in the output leads.  Almost perfect, except my soldering skills are clearly sub-standard, as a loose splice causes stalls.

My point is that for first-timers, most projects can seem intimidating. When I hear 'how simple xyz is', I feel even more ignorant when it isn't simple for me. I still am intimidated, as I expect to completely replace the faulty work.  On the other hand, it is enjoyable to learn new skills, and I am most thankful for the advice of others in such forums.  Hopefully I won't fry anything more expensive than a LED!

I truly appreciate the generosity of time and talent shown by those who have these skills to those of us who are learning.

JimW (definitely NOT an expert here!)

Lee Nicholas

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Utah Colorado Western
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2017, 08:47:53 PM »
I will install modules for my standard fee of $50. My background: I have installed at least 1000 Rail Lynx decoders (NCE) over the past 25 years and over 60 RailPro modules to date.
Interested parties email leeucwrr@msn.com

Lee Nicholas
Corinne, Utah

DavidD_OKC

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2018, 10:13:48 AM »
Like JamesS, I seriously considered paying for professional installation.  Although some projects appear to be simply that of unplug-and-replace, my first and only installation of any kind was in a (narrow-hood) DCC-ready Proto SD9. Without a mentor, I have relied on reading and viewing similar installations, only a very few of which are available for Railpro, and none for my loco.

It was interesting, but time-consuming to disassemble the loco, then remove the PC board,  remove and cut down the weight so as to fit the LM-2S, replace the lights and then splice in the output leads.  Almost perfect, except my soldering skills are clearly sub-standard, as a loose splice causes stalls.

My point is that for first-timers, most projects can seem intimidating. When I hear 'how simple xyz is', I feel even more ignorant when it isn't simple for me. I still am intimidated, as I expect to completely replace the faulty work.  On the other hand, it is enjoyable to learn new skills, and I am most thankful for the advice of others in such forums.  Hopefully I won't fry anything more expensive than a LED!

I truly appreciate the generosity of time and talent shown by those who have these skills to those of us who are learning.

JimW (definitely NOT an expert here!)

I definitely understand this. My failing eyesight and unsteady hands make me a bit nervous when it comes to the soldering required to add sound and LED's or simply make the connections on the loco's control board in the recommended manner. If we were still dealing with Athearn blue box locos it might be different but the investment in the newer more detailed units would make mistakes rather painful I think.

Still, I think I will try my hand at some of the simpler stuff. If it is too much then I'll contact Traintek or another dealer with a good reputation for installs. Good luck!
40 year novice modeler

Primary Interest: CP, NS, & Amtrak on the former D&H north of Albany, NY

CampbellRice

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: RailPro Installation Service
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2018, 05:31:43 PM »
I had Litchfield Station install a LM3-S and stay alive on my Scale Trains Tier 4 as it appeared very complicated. They provided everything and did a great job.
http://www.litchfieldstation.com/installs/