Author Topic: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC  (Read 1579 times)

Pequeajim

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« on: February 24, 2019, 06:07:14 AM »
Has anybody wired their layout with a switched RP/DCC buss?

I was thinking that since the power wiring for RP is essentially the same as a DCC bus, I could keep them the same, but use an appropriate switch to flip from one buss to the other.  As long as I keep the polarity the same.  This would make my transition from DCC much easier.

Thoughts

Pequeajim

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2019, 06:37:04 AM »
I'm a little worried, because most of my turnout controls are Tam Valley DCC circuit boards and this is the same layout that will be running the railpro stuff.  it seems to me that the best way to avoid this scenario with potential problems is to run a separate DCC bus for all of the turnouts...
« Last Edit: February 24, 2019, 06:39:26 AM by Pequeajim »

Pequeajim

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2019, 08:24:56 AM »
I wonder if a double throw, double pole switch would meet my requirements?  Then a separate buss for the TAM Valley turnouts?
« Last Edit: February 24, 2019, 08:27:52 AM by Pequeajim »

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2019, 09:00:55 AM »
Why not just keep the DCC power on the layout? Your RailPro units will run fine and you can keep the DCC related boards intact.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


Pequeajim

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2019, 09:07:31 AM »
That is something that I did not know they would do?

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2019, 09:09:36 AM »
One of the beauties of RailPro is that it will run on any track that has at ~14V on it. you can take your Railpro units to anybody DCC layout and run them. If you already have DCC on your layout, keep it. Then your friends can bring their DCC units and rum them too.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


KPack

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2019, 03:13:54 PM »
First of all, welcome to the forum.

Second, Bill is right.  There is no need to run two separate buss wires.  Railpro will work on any DCC-powered layout without any issues.  You'll find that Railpro is far more capable than it first seems.  14 volts is ideal, but I've run Railpro on lower voltage without problem.  The starting and top speed will feel a little different with a lower voltage, but it's totally usable. 

Just put your Railpro locomotives on the track and have fun.  It's that simple.

-Kevin

Pequeajim

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2019, 08:31:06 AM »
Thank you Bill and Kevin.  That is exactly what I'm going to do... 😊

Pequeajim

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Buss wiring to support RailPro and normal DCC
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2019, 08:34:22 AM »
And your right.  It works fine.