Author Topic: Amrit By LocoFi  (Read 793 times)

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
    • View Profile
Amrit By LocoFi
« on: July 16, 2019, 08:09:45 AM »
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Proto-Rail modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
    • View Profile
Re: Amrit By LocoFi
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2019, 08:35:40 AM »
Is the 12V too low for RailPro?

Nope. RP will operate lower than that but you will get the low voltage warning. Looking at the specs:

  • Input Power: "Clean" DC, DCC. LocoFi™ pre-installation required.
  • Scale: HO
  • Input Voltage: 0V - 24V
  • Current Rating: 1.5A
  • Output Voltage: 11V - 24V. Output voltage is equal to input voltage when input voltage is greater than 11V; switches to battery power to provide fixed output of 12V if input voltage falls below 11V. The battery charges when the track power is greater than 7V.

it should work without any issue on RP; the max input voltage is way more than RP can put out, the current rating more than enough for a good motor plus sound and light (RP is 2A stall, 1A continuous) and the output voltage will be the same as whatever RP is outputting (~14v).

- Tim

Tom

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Amrit By LocoFi
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2019, 10:33:11 AM »
I guess this is the equivalent of a keep-alive.

Which is less space intensive, keep-alive or LocoFi?

Any pluses or minuses on installation of keep-alive vs. LocoFi?

I seem to recall that a keep-alive is a problem in a LM-2S, but not a LM-3S.  I think it may have had something to do with running on DCC.  Anyway, is there any problem with the LocoFi using either a LM-2S or LM-3S?

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1075
    • View Profile
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Amrit By LocoFi
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2019, 12:12:40 PM »
I believe a KA-1 or 2 will be a lot smaller than this, and is only $21 each including shipping. The KA-3 or 4 will be just a bit smaller and still only $21 each.

The KA can be used with an LM-2 if you wire it using my instructions for installing with a bridge rectifier.

https://rpug.pdc.ca/index.php/topic,350.msg2604.html#msg2604
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
    • View Profile
Re: Amrit By LocoFi
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2019, 03:32:51 PM »
The Amrit has a much greater power supply though with the ability to power a locomotive up to 5 minutes versus 5-7 seconds.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Proto-Rail modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
    • View Profile
Re: Amrit By LocoFi
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2019, 03:33:57 PM »
I guess this is the equivalent of a keep-alive.

Which is less space intensive, keep-alive or LocoFi?

Any pluses or minuses on installation of keep-alive vs. LocoFi?

I seem to recall that a keep-alive is a problem in a LM-2S, but not a LM-3S.  I think it may have had something to do with running on DCC.  Anyway, is there any problem with the LocoFi using either a LM-2S or LM-3S?

No, it really isn't. A Keep-Alive or similar will power a locomotive in the second range, generally 3-9, whereas this can power a locomotive for up to 5 minutes. This is a significant leap in capability.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Proto-Rail modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org