Author Topic: Broadway Limited Installations?  (Read 4403 times)

swoyekr

• Fireman
Broadway Limited Installations?
« on: December 09, 2019, 06:47:50 PM »
I have a Broadway Limited Reading T1 I'm partial to keeping, however, from what I've read the BLI units can be difficult to install the railpro receiver into. Is this true? Anyone attempt the installation?

Alan

• Conductor
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Broadway Limited Installations?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2019, 08:09:06 PM »
I have no practical experience with BL and RP however, if you are willing to forgo the factory BL features and make the loco a pure RP installation then it should be no different than any other loco manufacturer - they're all fundamentally wheels, motor, and wires.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

TwinStar

• Conductor
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2019, 02:25:27 PM »
BLI diesel locomotives are crap. Absolute junk. Their DC/DCC electronics are even worse than their models. I have two of them and loath the day I invested as much time and effort as I did working with them. My advice is to remove any electronics that BLI installed and do a clean RailPro install. Sorry for the bad news but that's my experience with them and I still need to disassemble them, again, and mill the frame properly so that they will sit on their trucks level.
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

swoyekr

• Fireman
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2019, 03:35:52 PM »