Author Topic: Speaker Wiring  (Read 7786 times)

Stephen K

• Fireman
Speaker Wiring
« on: March 14, 2020, 09:58:06 PM »
I'm just beginning my first Rail Pro installation.  Well, soon as it arrives.  I have an Atlas Ready to Run GP-40 that I am outfitting with 2 small sugar cube speakers.  I have the speakers fitted to the speaker cover and ready to solder wires.  My question is if this pair of speakers should be wired in series or parallel?  Simple as that...  Thanks.

Alan

• Conductor
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Speaker Wiring
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2020, 10:04:37 PM »
Either. RP modules can drive a 4 ohm load. Series sugar cubes = 16 ohms, parallel sugar cubes = 4 ohms.
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

Stephen K

• Fireman
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2020, 09:15:10 AM »
Thanks Alan.  Does one method yield more volume than the other?  Thus can operate at a lower volume "setting" and reduce the load on the module?   This question is coming from my (vague) recall of an article I read somewhere on line that suggested this idea.  Just don't recall which way was which.  Seems to me, based on your message "series = 16 ohms" that this would be preferable.  Or is this idea just too insignificant to worry about?

Alan

• Conductor
    • LK&O Railroad
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2020, 09:54:19 AM »
Member KPack has real world experience. Hopefully he will chime in. I personally do not use sound.

Fundamentally, the parallel connection will yield higher volume. Less speaker resistance = more amp power = more cone movement. Real world can be very different depending on myriad of influencing factors. Dangerous area to make broad brush statements.

I would not worry about working the LM amp. RP has very good internal protection. It will shut down the module before damage occurs. Or if you have death metal as the prime mover sound and the volume cranked to 11  :D
Alan

LK&O Railroad website