Author Topic: Bachmann Spectrum 20.3 Climax (akkloes introduction)  (Read 1749 times)

akkloes

• Fireman
Bachmann Spectrum 20.3 Climax (akkloes introduction)
« on: April 12, 2022, 09:35:08 AM »
I'm Kent from Grove City, Ohio, USA.

My wife & I have been into G scale trains for about 20 years (multiple houses = multiple layouts)
I am currently wanting to convert a Bachmann Spectrum 20.3 Climax engine to battery power Railpro. (After that I will be converting a Spectrum 20.3 two-truck Shay).

I bought a Railpro RPO LM-4S-G locomotive module as the control module.
When I dropped the ashpan, I found I was looking at a Bachmann G811x-PCB02 board and came to a complete stop.  I assume I need some/all of the resistors on this board, so I didn't start cutting wires.  There is also a second PCB in the bunker which is for a soundboard.

I need some guidance on how to proceed so I don't cause damage.
Experience level is moderate, but I'm not good at reading PCBs.

Video is a couple years old...and prior to the Shay   

JRad

• Conductor
Re: Bachmann Spectrum 20.3 Climax (akkloes introduction)
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2022, 06:28:37 PM »
Hello Kent -

I've not had my Climax open, but I'll assume that it is similar to the 2-Truck Shay in that the electronics you find in the ash pan is the driver and LEDs for the Firebox Flicker.

You basically have a choice. Either leave all the factory wiring/electronics in place and spend a lot of time tracing wires and finding places to stuff your module and batteries - OR - cut out all of the factory electronics and wire everything directly.  The second option will give you a bit more room for your battery, speaker and LM, but it will still be tight.