Author Topic: Caboose Lighting  (Read 65 times)

bcbarney

  • Brakeman
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Caboose Lighting
« on: October 13, 2020, 01:29:07 PM »
Hi,
I am in need of lighting a caboose (directional, LED). Can I use an old LM-1 (surplus in my pile of stuff) just for the lighting features?  If not, how can I address my needs?  Thanks for your help!!!
Bruce Barney

KiloWhiskey

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Kevin W.
    • View Profile
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2020, 04:51:31 PM »
Sure.... just get proper trucks and if you use a KA, use a diode bridge thing... (insert proper terminology here).

Kevin
Kevin


In my defense, I was left unsupervised....

Alan

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 940
    • View Profile
    • LK&O Railroad
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2020, 05:01:24 PM »
Sure.... just get proper trucks and if you use a KA, use a diode bridge thing... (insert proper terminology here).

Kevin

Oh so close. Only missing a y. The technical term is diode bridge thingy.  ;D
Alan

LK&O Railroad website

When I was a kid... no wait, I still do that. HO, 28x32, double deck, 1969, RailPro

MichaelK

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2020, 05:28:20 PM »
Yeah, a bridge rectifier dealy-bob.  :)

bcbarney

  • Brakeman
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2020, 08:49:35 PM »
Okay, thanks!  Why is my HC-2 not seeing it?  I thought that maybe it was because it was not hooked up to a motor.  I am lost with this, help!

Bruce

William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1074
    • View Profile
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Caboose Lighting
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2020, 06:16:38 AM »
Bruce,

If you have track power hooked to the leads, the HC should be able to find it. (hook it straight to the rails to test)
Is it possible that the LM-1 is still in the loco inventory on the HC under it's old name?

If you attached power to the wrong leads, then it will be burnt out. You may need to send it in for a $25 repair.
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.