Poll

I would prefer to use RailPro software on my...

MAC computer
6 (19.4%)
Windows PC computer
24 (77.4%)
Other
1 (3.2%)

Total Members Voted: 30

Voting closed: November 22, 2017, 12:41:15 PM

Author Topic: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)  (Read 3337 times)

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 908
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #15 on: October 30, 2017, 11:49:45 PM »
I see we have a Linux vote (presumably). Hope you are not holding off using RP waiting on that one. It would be interesting to see if RP Simulator will run on Linux/Wine. Who knows, maybe RP on Linux is already here.

I missed replying to this straight away. I must have been asleep. I cast that vote for Linux. I wondered if anyone would work out that it was me or not as I've mentioned Linux before.

So no Alan, I'm not holding off on RP waiting on that one. I don't have a Linux machine yet but once I've built a new machine to replace this old one I will. I plan to be free of MS one of these days (except for maybe a virtual environment), and Mac it won't be either.

From what I can tell it should be relatively easy for RE to compile RPA and HC Sim for Linux, but I won't hold my breath.

- Tim

Dean

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #16 on: November 02, 2017, 09:26:46 AM »
My main computer runs Linux. But I have Windows 7 running on it as a virtual machine just to run Windows only programs.
Dean

G8B4Life

  • Signalman (Global Mod)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 908
  • I'll think of a catchy tag line one day
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #17 on: November 02, 2017, 10:24:48 AM »
Dean,

Out of interest which Linux distro are you using and are you using the RailPro software (in virtual windows) on that machine?

I  have been playing around with a couple of distros with WinE to see if a viable option exists for Linux (and Mac, WinE is availble for Mac as well) users to run RP software without having to buy additional software, though they may have to install additional software.

I actually had RP software running in WinE, but I couldn't get it to see the internet or the hardware. I was running Linux in a virtual environment so essentially I was running a virtual environment inside another virtual environment so that may have stuffed things up a bit.

- Tim



William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2017, 10:27:40 AM »
LAST DAY TO VOTE!
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2017, 07:43:18 AM »
Thanks Everybody who voted!
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


William Brillinger

  • Dispatcher (Admin)
  • Conductor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • Precision Design Co.
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #20 on: December 08, 2017, 04:56:40 PM »
I sent the results of the survey to Ring Engineering after the poll closed.

I received this reply today: "Our RPA and HC Sim are both written to be cross platform compatible.  We expect at some point to make a Mac version of them."

If you want to see a MAC version, email Mr. Ring! info@ringengineering.com
- Bill Brillinger, RPUG Admin

Modeling the BNML in HO Scale, owner of Precision Design Co., and RailPro Dealer.


MtRR75

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2017, 11:23:45 PM »
I sent the results of the survey to Ring Engineering after the poll closed.

I received this reply today: "Our RPA and HC Sim are both written to be cross platform compatible.  We expect at some point to make a Mac version of them."

If you want to see a MAC version, email Mr. Ring! info@ringengineering.com

I have done this ... twice.  Got nearly the exact same response.

drisdon

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2017, 02:39:22 PM »
I would prefer Mac, primarily because we have only a Mac!  I have a 14 year old Dell Laptop, that I kept for some reason, without wifi that I have to use to download files, it is slow but somehow works.  We definitely need the software for a Mac!  Even better would be able to to the transfer from a iPad. 

Dan Risdon

TwinStar

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 505
  • Modeling a 1961 Rock Island Twin Star Rocket
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2017, 07:35:52 PM »
I would prefer Mac, primarily because we have only a Mac!  I have a 14 year old Dell Laptop, that I kept for some reason, without wifi that I have to use to download files, it is slow but somehow works.  We definitely need the software for a Mac!  Even better would be able to to the transfer from a iPad. 

Dan Risdon

14 years old? It's still newer than DCC!
Jacob Damron
Modeling late 1950's Dallas Union Terminal in Free-mo+ modules

Texas Railway Modeling and Historical Society trmhs.org
trmhs.org

SWA737

  • Engineer
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #24 on: December 14, 2017, 09:59:06 PM »
MAC please!!!

robert.h.giffin

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 16
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #25 on: December 26, 2017, 10:58:55 PM »
Yes, Mac software would be great.  My personal stuff is all Apple.  However I do have PCs available.

cdp48

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 3
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #26 on: December 27, 2017, 04:19:06 PM »
Windows PC

crzytrnbuf

  • Fireman
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Would you prefer to use MAC or PC for RailPro? (POLL)
« Reply #27 on: December 28, 2017, 04:45:31 PM »
 all i have is PC in our house.